Leaving Bailey

February 9th, 2016

Bailey and I have never been apart for more than a few hours.  Tomorrow that will change.  I am flying to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan for a knee surgery consultation before having the arthroscopic operation in a few weeks.  My family including Bailey is staying behind.  I am excited to see my old haunts in Saskatoon after spending 13 1/2 years in Northern Manitoba, meet my brother’s family for the first time and stroll through the shops.  It will be my first trip alone without a child or two and a husband.  I can sleep in, leisurely sip gourmet coffee and dine on sushi which no one else in the family enjoys.  Basically, do as I please.  Sounds great, well not really.  I will miss my sweetness, Bailey, and the other family members.

Walking around Saskatoon by myself in the morning will not be the same as strolling with Bailey.  She’s a sensitive pooch and knows something is up.  I have been training the youngest son in the art of grooming.  Bailey will be disappointed if her nightly massage session is cancelled.  I have been talking non-stop about stuff that needs to be done to keep Bailey content.  Important stuff like she needs a pig’s ear to chew on at 9 pm before her last business call at 9:30 pm.  Failure to do so could result in Bailey sampling the front door molding with her big canine teeth.  The last time that I forgot, Bailey took it upon herself to find something to gnaw on – the door frame.  Ah, another repair to make the “to do” list for this year.  I demonstrated how to prepare her meals – more like trying to hide her wild salmon oil pill under the kibble.  I am not sure if any of them are really listening but, they do nod their heads.  Like it or not, they are flying solo as of 7:30 am.  The mothership will have left orbit.  Bailey will be the lone female in a house of testosterone.  Don’t feel sorry for them.  The freezer is filled with two types of cookies and Reese’s peanut butter bars.  I will miss eating those bars as the boys will annihilate them long before my return.  As long as they shower Bailey with lots of love, I know that the family will do just fine.  I may be leaving Bailey in Labrador but, a part of my heart is staying there too!

2 comments

  1. easyweimaraner · February 10, 2016

    I hear you… my husband gets a list every time I have to leave… and I call him every day to hear the news (87 times lol). The worst is that I worry more for Easy than for myself and the time I was in hospital last year was like sitting on glowing coals… just because of the pup :o) Good luck for the appointment and the surgery.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. noofmitchell · February 14, 2016

    Daily progress reports were promising. By Sunday morning, Bailey was refusing to eat her meals. My husband decided that canned salmon was needed. No luck with Bailey. However, her appetite returned after I arrived home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

