Snow Buddies

October 25th, 2016

Labrador West was hammered with falling snow over the past two days.  Our green lawn has turned into a white wonderland for 20 month old Bailey.  After a summer of dragging her paws on walks, Bailey is now charging ahead with extra springiness, stopping only to submerge her head in a pile of snow.  Winter is here much to Bailey’s delight.  I was also thrilled to see the arrival of the white stuff.  Wet snow makes perfect snowballs.  Bailey loves snowballs but, not the snowmen that suddenly appeared in yards along her walking route.  My days are a little more physical with the shovelling and hiking through deep snow.  I can barely keep my eyes open in the evening.  Bailey seems to be snoring more loudly as she sleeps alongside the couch – dreaming of our vast white land.

Dont Step On My Tail.jpg

Tonight, Bailey had the pleasure of meeting her puppy friend, Cas, for their nightly romp together.  Cas loves the snow as much as Bailey.  I suspect that is because of his husky genes.  Bailey will have a winter companion.  It can be a little lonely when you are the only dog out at minus temperatures.  successful-tackleThe two buddies chased and tackled one another.  Their attention on one another was broken only when another dog walked by with his owner.  Then, it was back to play.  I had brought my camera with the hopes of getting some snow shots for the blog.  They struck poses long enough for me to get my camera out and focused.  One of them would move and the other would follow.  I was left with a shot minus the dogs.  If I did manage to keep them in the shot, I ended up with blurry looking dogs.  I persisted until my exposed fingers pained from the cold.  It was futile.  Winter is only beginning here and I realized that I have six more months to get that perfect snow buddies shot.dogbreak

 

2 comments

  1. easyweimaraner · October 26

    oh wow two friends dashing through the snow… without a sled and a horse :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    • noofmitchell · October 27

      Bailey’s carting harness is waiting for pick up in Eastern Ontario and then, she will be pulling a sled through the snow. I can’t wait until it arrives.

      Like

Leave a Reply

