A Whole Lotta Lovin’

February 14th, 2017

Happy Valentine’s Day!  It is the day that we celebrate “love”. For my family, it is the celebration of our love for chocolate.  The boys left with heart cookies covered with crushed cherry flavoured Jolly Ranchers and chocolate drizzled over top in their lunch bags.  Did I really think that those cookies would survive the ride to school on the bus?  I was doubtful given that I only lasted until the 9 am.  I barely stuffed two of them down before Bailey caught on that something was up.  She kept close watch afterwards in case what smelt so good suddenly appeared again.

By the afternoon, I was whipping up a batch of cheesecake brownies.  Bailey moved herself into the kitchen.  She looked up eagerly as I carried dirty bowls and utensils to the sink for washing.  I felt a nudge on my leg and glanced down.  A hopeful face peered back at me as if to say, “Don’t forget the dish lick!”  I responded by telling her that chocolate was not allowed.  Bailey was less than pleased when the anticipated lick failed to happen.  I took pity on this moocher and thought a peanut butter and pumpkin dog treat would satisfy her.  I got the feeling that Bailey was not impressed with the substitute.  Once the oven was on with the brownies baking, Bailey sought refuge from the heat in the garage.  She caught up on her missed morning napping.  The boys arrived home to the smell of brownies waffling into the main entry area.  A voice called out, “Something sure smells good.”  no-brownies-for-meAmazing how two boys and a dog suddenly appear out of thin air.  Bailey watched as I sliced up the brownies and placed each serving into a bowl.  She lay down on the kitchen floor as we enjoyed the decadent dessert.  The dishes were whisked into the dishwasher.  Bailey was definitely not feeling the love.  She parked herself down in the entry way and gave a dejected look to me as I passed by.

I was drawn to her.  My hands reached out to rub her favourite spots – under the chin and around the ears.  The boys joined us. Bailey rolled over and waited as if to say, “Show me the love.”  The boys and I massaged her entire body.  The love flowed from us to her and her to us.  With Bailey in our lives, love will always be there.

 

2 comments

  1. easyweimaraner · February 15

    that was great to read… yes… a house is full of love with a dog :o) Happy valentines day

    Liked by 1 person

  2. noofmitchell · March 8

    With fur family members, you can never get enough love in their eyes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

