Inspiring Spring Cleaning

March 14th, 2017

 

Spring Cleaning Deterrent

I started thinking about spring cleaning the house with the arrival of daylight savings time.  It’s a process that can seem daunting at the beginning.  Small steps, I reminded myself.  Better to get an early start rather than wait until painting the interior living space begins in May.  I can only do so much at one time.  Painting and Bailey will be challenging enough without the annual house clean-up added on.  I put a schedule together that focused on one room at a time.  Sounded simple!  I was ready to begin.  What I did not anticipate on was Bailey sabotaging my motivation.

Not A Care In The WorldThe entry area seemed like a good place to start.  It only had one closet.  But, with winter weather still here, it was bulging with cold season gear.  Cross-country ski boots and clothing jammed between snow pants and ski jackets caused me to pause.  Should I be holding off until spring in Labrador West had actually arrived?  The carefully written cleaning schedule went through its first revision.  The living room was next.  Bailey had other ideas.  She naps in the morning on her special blankets with “Stuffie”.   After a longer early morning walk, Bailey had fallen into a deep sleep punctuated with the occasional snore.  I commanded her to move – no response.  I attempted to move her and was met with a sound reminiscent of extricating my teenage sons from their beds on a Saturday morning.  I was determined to not be thwarted by Bailey.  After all, I am the boss.  Show No FearI pulled the vacuum out from the hall closet and into the living room.  I was sure that the noise would convince Bailey to relocate to a quieter place.  It did not.  She simply rolled onto her back; jowls exposed and let out a long sigh.  God, I envied her.  I had been up since 5 am.  If anyone needed a snooze, it was me.  Things were not going according to the plan.  With each snore from Bailey, my motivation quickly waned. I  finished vacuuming throughout the house minus the living room carpet before ditching the cleaning schedule.  I plopped myself down on the sofa with my latest novel, teacup in hand and Bailey lying happily below me.  Secretly, I hoped that spring would arrive late this year as I reached down to give a few belly rubs to my girl.

Someone Is Not On Her Blanket

Urge To Rub

 

 

Leave a Reply

