Sending Out A S.O.S

May 9th, 2017

Dogs have their own language and.  Like most dog owners, I try my best at interpreting what Bailey is saying.  Bailey is not much of a verbalizer.  Oh, she’ll let out a few woofs if someone comes to the door or a strange sound is heard.  So, it is the non-verbal cues that are telling.  I can see how obvious the signs were that Bailey had developed a urinary tract infection now.  Last Wednesday, I noticed a few droplets on the fur of Bailey’s inside back legs while grooming her.  I just assumed it was some of the apple vinegar solution that I use for cleaning.  No, it wasn’t.  My oldest son, who has the responsibility to take her out for the last business trip of the night, mentioned that she had not gone.  He came in saying, “She pretended to go by sniffing, digging and finally, squatting but, did  nothing.”  The next night, he made the same remark.  I was dense.  Bailey was doing her best to communicate her distress.

By Saturday, I noticed as Bailey got up from a sound sleep that there was a wet spot on her blanket that covers the living room rug.  I went down on my hands and knees to smell the spot.  I wasn’t sure.  The blanket got washed anyway.  Further evidence was found on Sunday.  Bailey fell asleep in the front entry.  Two slightly pale yellow spots boldly showed up on the white sheet lying over the front entry door mat to capture debris tracked in by our Newf’s gigantic paws.  The light bulb went off.  I suspected our girl might have UTI.  Out came the special “panties” with a sanitary pad inside to help capture any pee leaks.  She was thrilled to see her “panties” that had been fashioned from an old pair of my husband’s underwear.  Thankfully, I kept one pair when the rest were thrown out after Bailey’s last heat.

Monday morning, I went to fetch Bailey from her pen for the first business trip of the day.  My nose told me that she had already gone.  Bailey’s pen has untreated concrete for the floor which meant much of the urine had soaked in.  There was no saving the rug that Bailey slept on.  I was going to be scrubbing the floor for a long time.  With a physiotherapy appointment scheduled first thing, I wasn’t going to get to it until later in the day.  As luck would have it, Bailey was scheduled to see the vet on Monday at 4 pm.  She was getting her nails trimmed and being vaccinated before our trip to South Eastern Ontario.  I called the vet in the morning to add on another thing to the list.  I was told to collect a pee sample and get it to the office within an hour after taking it.  Fortunately, Bailey was due for another trip outside.  She produced the sample with little difficulty.  I dropped it off at noon and headed out to find something waterproof to protect the floor of her kennel.  I eventually came across rubberized runners that could be cut to size.  I returned home to spend the entire afternoon cleaning her kennel down.  Then, with the help of my son, we put the mats down and sealed the seam with duck tape.  I put in a fleece blanket for Bailey to sleep on and should she pee, it would wick the moisture away from her body.  The vet visit resulted in confirmation of Bailey having a UTI.  She was prescribed 3 pills of antibiotics every 12 hours for 10 days.  Given her size, the vet only had enough for 5 days which means picking up the remaining pills on Friday.  For the moment, Bailey gets taken out every hour and half throughout the day.  She has had no accidents inside.  Her kennel only took 10 minutes to clean once her blanket was removed for washing.  Bailey is quite happy to have her rump washed down on a regular basis as long as her “panties” are put back on.  Our girl sent out numerous S.O.S alerts and we finally heard.  Lesson learned.

 

2 comments

  1. easyweimaraner · May 10

    oh poor girl… I hope so much the UTI goes away from you soon… hugs and weim-power to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. noofmitchell · May 11

    Thanks for the best wishes. Bailey is showing signs of improvement and may be giving up wearing panties by tomorrow. Her humans are trying to be more observant.

    Like

Leave a Reply

