Life Lessons Learned From A Newf

May 23rd, 2017

Life LessonsToday, Bailey and I worked on prepping the yard for planting.  The boys were back at school after a long weekend.  I pulled out weeds leftover from last summer and trimmed the pussy willow stalks growing ever closer to our lupine beds.  Bailey watched me.  I wondered if she could be convinced to haul the branches to the pile accumulating at the back of the yard.  Somehow, I didn’t think she would leave the comfort of her grassy spot.  None of the tasks involved much concentration on my part.  My mind pondered over what to write in this week’s blog post.  Then, it came to me.  I have learnt a few things from hanging around with Bailey. Here are a few life lessons learned from our Newfoundland dog.

  1. A new friend may be just around the corner.  Bailey is always on the lookout for new friends.  According to Bailey, you can never have too many friends.
  2. Food is meant to be shared.  Try enjoying anything edible with a Newfoundland dog staring at you and not share.
  3. No one gets left behind.  Bailey will wait for the slowest person whether you want to or not.
  4. Naps are important.  I don’t feel guilty about a couple of naps during the day anymore.
  5. Drink lots of water.  A 5 gallon water bucket provides the perfect amount for Bailey.  Hearing her guzzling water reminds me to rehydrate myself.
  6. Don’t be afraid to explore.  Bailey has brought out my adventurous side.
  7. Take time to smell everything.  Nothing gets by Bailey.
  8. A little encouragement goes a long way.  A simple pat or word can make Bailey’s day.
  9. Leave a little of yourself behind.  Even when Bailey’s not with us, we find dust bunnies made of fur (Bailey bunnies) or drool streaks to ensure that we never forget her.

As much as we teach her, Bailey has her own lessons to share with us.

 

One comment

  1. easyweimaraner · May 24

    love the life lessons… yes we can’t have enough friends and I try to find one efurry day… last additions to my friends list: laundry on a clothes line and a black dachshund-mix I saw in a car :o)

    Like

Leave a Reply

